Now I’m miffed

What good is copyright if it doesn’t stop people from stealing?

Copyright violation is an awful thing. Someone has taken my book, Dreams in Transit, converted it to a PDF file, and uploaded it to a downloads site for other members to download for free.

How do I know? I have a Google alert defined for my book, Dreams in Transit. Today I got a message with an alert and, when I checked it out, there was a link that turned out to be to a site that is allowing my book to be downloaded for free. I have sent them an email notifying them that it is a copyright violation for them to offer my book for free without my permission. I told them to stop. I doubt it will do much good. Is it worth hiring a lawyer? I’m sure Amazon isn’t going to help.

With the fact that my book has barely sold, I’m wondering how anyone knows about it to be trying to violate my copyright by stealing it.

I will update this post when I see what happens.

You have Files that are Ready to Burn to Disk

Make it go away!

Since yesterday, every time I turn on my computer, I get the message that I “have files ready to burn to disk.” It is annoying and, even worse, when I clicked on the message to try to cancel it, the window that should show the list of files ready to burn is empty! So how do you cancel something that you have already canceled?

Here is the answer. When you select files to burn to disk, you drag the files into that window. If you delete the contents of the list, the list goes into the recycle bin. Every time your computer starts up after that, it finds the list and tells you that you have files ready to burn.

Now for the solution. It’s so simple, you may kick yourself when I tell you what it is. In fact, it it so simple that you probably already figured it out. Empty the recycle bin and that “files ready to burn to disk” message will go away once and for all.

At least, until the next time you decide not to burn files to disk.

They’re baaack!

In Windows 8.1, you might still get the message. That is because Windows 8.1 maintains a hidden folder with information about files you have selected to write to a CD or DVD. If that hidden folder isn’t empty you will still see the message. The folder is located here:

C:UsersusernameAppDataLocalMicrosoftWindowsBurnTemporary Burn Folder

Replace “username” with your Windows username. Also, this is a hidden folder, so you will have to make hidden files visible. In Windows Explorer, go to the View tab and make sure that the box next to : Hidden items is checked.

When you have opened the folder, delete any files you find there. This should clear up the problem. (It is possible that this will work in earlier versions of Windows as well, but I can’t verify that easily. Let me know if you try it and it works.)